Well done Susan!

A Blantyre woman is amongst several Volunteers across South Lanarkshire who have been recognised for their outstanding contributions with a one-off award.

Susan Lindner-Kelly, who many well know from ‘Bonnie Blantyre’ picked up an Environmental Award for the worthy contribution she has made to improving Blantyre’s outdoor spaces.

The council announced earlier this year that the awards would be made as part of HM The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Awards. Following the sad passing of HM The Queen, the decision was made to change the name of the awards to the Queen Elizabeth II Memorial Awards.

There were three categories of awards – Lifetime Achievement Awards, Environmental Awards and Young Persons Award.

Provost Margaret Cooper said: “The awards recognised the fabulous efforts of volunteers across South Lanarkshire. It was a privilege to meet the winners and hear about how much time and effort they put in to help others. Huge congratulations to them all – the recognition was thoroughly deserved.”

A huge congratulations to Susan. We know she’ll be quick to point out that ‘Bonnie Blantyre’ is often the efforts of several volunteers, but it goes without saying that this award recognises her personal hard work, dedication and excellent organisational skills in getting things done.

More Information

Council Leader Joe Fagan said: “I was part of the judging panel and although there were several worthy nominations the award winners truly went above and beyond to make things better for others.

“It was fantastic to see the work they do being rewarded in this way.”

As well as the three categories, there was also an overall award winner, which went to Emily Butler for her work with several groups over a number of years in the Strathaven community.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards went to Emily Butler, Hugh Kerr from Larkhall, Alison Miller from Carluke and James Nixon from Cambuslang.

The Environmental Awards went to Eugenie Aroutcheff from Rutherglen, Susan Lindner-Kelly from Blantyre and Maureen Potter from East Kilbride.

The Young Person’s Award went to Burnhill Action Group from Rutherglen and Sean Mitchell-Lay from Larkhall.

Emily received a silver quaich for the overall award with the other winners receiving a certificate presented by Provost Cooper at a reception earlier this month.

Pictured above are some of the winners with Provost Cooper, Council Leader Joe Fagan, Lord Lieutenant for Lanarkshire Lady Susan Haughey and the council’s chief executive Cleland Sneddon.

 145 total views

Leave a Reply